The Venetian walls represent the most formidable project of Venetian rule.
They were first built in the 15th century whereas extensions and improvements were carried out during the 16th and 17th centuries. The main architect was one of the famous army engineers of the 16th century, Michele San Michele of Verona. The perimeter has a length of 3 km reinforced with three ramparts which are still maintained.It has four gates: the pier gate at the harbour, the gate of Lazaretto ,the gate of the Pantocrator or Panigra known today as the gate of Chania, and the fourth gate is on the south side called the gate of Jesus or new gate. Proceeding along the perimeter we reach the impregnable bastion of Martinego, the highest point on a peak where the walls meet forming a triangle into the peninsula. Here in lies the tomb of Nikos Kazantzakis (1883-1957) from where one can enjoy a panoramic a breathtaking view.